



#### **NAAB International Certification**

# **Appendix 1: Template for Course Descriptions - Electives [limit 1 page per course]**

#### Number & Title of Course (total credits awarded):

ELARCH401 - Praxis I - Semester - ECTS - Cicle/Profile: - Scientific Area:

#### **Course Description (limit 25 words)**

Contact with the culture (the state of the art) and the practice of contemporary architectural design, through participation in online seminars with professionals with recognized practice.

### **Course Goals & Objectives (list):**

Increase knowledge about contemporary design processes and methodologies of architecture, new imperatives and the means mobilized.

Studying the transition from idea to work and everyday use.

Intersection of our school's culture and vision of the project, revisited by each of the house's curators, teachers and guest's, presented through their praxis

External best practices and example's.

Culture's of construction and reflections on materiality  $\square$ s, as well as post-occupation or post-completion evaluation in works of case studies/authors.

Reflection's on the (meta)project, the tools mobilized and their mastery, the relationship between research and conception/formalization

#### Student Performance Criterion addressed (list number and title):

Primary - A.1 Professional Communication Skills; A.2 Design Thinking Skills; B.2 Site Design; C.1 Research; D.5 Professional Conduct; Secondary -

#### Topical Outline (include percentage of time in course spent in each subject area):

Lecturing and Seminar Sessions: 26:00

Readings, Investigative Work and Critics: 19:00

## Textbooks/Learning Resources:

All lessons on repository Praxis:

https://www.fa.ulisboa.pt/index.php/pt/component/sppagebuilder/page/148-conferencias-praxis-2021

### Offered (semester and year):

2nd Year - Fall;

## Faculty assigned (list all faculty assigned during the two academic years prior to the visit):

Jorge Virgilio Rodrigues Mealha da Costa; José Manuel Aguiar Portela da Costa; Nuno Filipe Santos de Castro Montenegro; Nuno Miguel Feio Ribeiro Mateus; Tiago Mota Saraiva;