



NAAB International Certification

Appendix 1: Template for Course Descriptions [limit 1 page per course]

Number & Title of Course (total credits awarded):

ARCH301 - Design Studio V - Semester 5 - ECTS 12 - Cicle/Profile: 1st. Cycle/Core - Scientific Area: AU-Architecture and Urbanism

Course Description (limit 25 words)

Challenging preconceptions about the notion of HOME and housing typologies, delving deeper into the dimensions of LIVING through the approach and (re)combination of its various functions.

Course Goals & Objectives (list):

Consolidation of project methodologies

Sustained intervention in real contexts

Composition of architectural structures of intermediate complexity Meeting technical and aesthetic requirements Understanding spatial practices

Approach to the generic theme of housing.

Student Performance Criterion addressed (list number and title):

Primary - A.2 Design Thinking Skills; A.6 Use of Precedents; Secondary - A.3 Investigative Skills; A.4 Architectural Design Skills; A.8 Cultural Diversity and Social Equity;

Topical Outline (include percentage of time in course spent in each subject area):

TOTAL WORKLOAD: (312h) Studio work - 20% Tutoring - 7%; Lecturing - 5%; Site visits - 4% Design independent work - 40%; Investigative work - 13%; Readings - 6%; Final reviews - 5%

Prerequisites:

ARCH202 - Design Studio IV;

Textbooks/Learning Resources:

MONTEYS, Xavier, e FUERTES, Pere, Casa Collage, Un ensayo sobre la arquitectura de la casa, Ed. GG, 2001 MONTEYS, Xavier et alt., Rehabitar, en nueve episódios. Ed. Lampreave, 2012 LEUPEN, Bernard, Housing Design, a Manual, ed. NAI (Netherlands Architecture Institute) SCHNEIDER, Tatiana, TILL, Jeremy, Flexible Housing, ed. Taylor & Francis Group, 2008.

Offered (semester and year):

3nd Year - Fall;

Faculty assigned (list all faculty assigned during the two academic years prior to the visit):

António da Fonseca Ataíde Castel'branco; João Favila Vieira de Sousa Menezes; João Miguel de Sousa Carvalho Ribeiro da Silva Leite; Jorge Manuel Fava Spencer; Maria Manuela Afonso da Fonte; Nuno Miguel Gomes Arenga da Cruz Reis; Patrícia Guimarães Cabrita Matias; Pedro Manuel Dos Santos Lima Gaspar; Tiago Mota Saraiva;